My 4000th Tweet – a Blog Post…

4000

I have a lot of fun on Twitter. The community of Anons and Familiars has been a great place to interact with people make new friends. As I was coming up on my 4000th tweet I thought I’d have a little fun and ask people for suggestions on what I should tweet about.

There was the usual snark and teasing that is normal from this community, but I ended up with 8 suggestions. Rather than trying to pick one to write a limited tweet about, I thought I’d write a blog post and address them all!

So…in the order they came in, this is what some in the community came up with….

Doctor Super Donna ‏@DonnaGeee said, “Duh – me of course.”

Donna is a sweet lady who has a mission in Twitter life to greet people each day with a picture greeting. Hey, Donna, this is your shout out! 😉

Daniel Nazaruk ‏@sirpianoguy said, “KJV 1611 all the way baby!”

No, Daniel, not all the way! For those of you who don’t know by now, I’m not a KJV-lovin’ man. This is for two reasons.

1) I believe the Bible most effective for people is one they can understand. This was part of Martin Luther’s whole point in bringing the Bible into the common man’s language! If the Bible is unintelligible to people then it is no good. The English used in the KJV is fast becoming a dead language. Some words are completely out of use. Some words have completely shifted meaning. How is that a useful tool for understanding God’s revelation to us (especially since the original Bible was in Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek anyway)?

2) I have a textual issue with the KJV. I am in the camp that believes the Textus Receptus is the inferior text type. I prefer the eclectic text represented by the Nestle-Aland or UBS Bibles (my graduate work was in Biblical Studies so if this is a little much information just message me and I’ll be happy to explain any of this).

SBC Calvinist ‏@SBC_Calvinist said, “obscurity.”

The state of being unknown. That’s the Anon world! I’m not gonna say too much on this at the moment. I’m in the middle of editing the first edition of a e-journal. Several Anons are getting together and submitting pieces for this monthly journal. The theme of Vol. 1 Issue 1 is ANONYMITY. Keep an eye out for it, it should come out in about 2-3 weeks.

Kit ‏@LaineyTurc said, “How about marital sacrifice?”

This is actually a joke. Lainey and I have had conversations about love and sacrifice in marriage. I believe that a sacrificial mentality is needed in marriage. She says that it’s never a sacrifice to do things for the one you love.

But human nature is selfish. We typically look out for our own interests before looking to the interests of others. But Xianity throws that natural order into chaos and says, “Consider others more important than yourself. Look to others’ needs before your own.” In a sense, this is the heart of sacrifice. We give up our own sense of priority for the well-being of others. If a marriage is to go the distance, both partners need to embrace this attitude.

Sandi Tutolo ‏@CatBirds72 said, “Creation vs evolution.”

I won’t say too much on this one because I’ve scheduled a blog post for tomorrow about this topic. Let’s just say that I believe that God is the creative force behind the cosmos but I’m not willing to put him in a box and say he HAD to do it one particular way. And I’m pretty sure I’ll be worshipping Jesus in heaven alongside of some evolutionists…

SBC Calvinist ‏@SBC_Calvinist said, “Paper vs plastic.”

Plastic.

SBC Calvinist ‏@SBC_Calvinist said, “Dental hygiene.”

Dear world, please brush your teeth twice a day and floss regularly. Your teeth will thank you. People you talk to will thank you.

SuperMomWebb ‏@JoyFilledMom said, “How to raise children in The Lord (or things that one shouldn’t do).”

This is tough because, no matter what we do as parents, our kids are always going to choose their own path. Sometimes that will lead them away from faith. That is heartbreaking. While we can’t choose faith for them, we CAN give them a solid foundation of faith. The Shema in Deut. 6 is right on:

4 “Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. 5 You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. 6 And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. 7 You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. 8 You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. 9 You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

On top of this, however, is an important concept called modeling. It doesn’t matter what we say to our kids – our behavior says it louder. Don’t talk about the Bible with them. Live it out. Let them see it daily. That’s the best chance we have of making a lasting spiritual impact in the lofe of ANYONE, whether it be our neighbors, coworkers, or kids.

So there it is. My 4000th tweet. Thank you all for playing.

We’ll have to do this again some time soon 

Leave a Reply

