How to Overcome Tweeter’s Block

Have you ever just stared at your screen and drawn a total blank as to what you should tweet? That, my friends, is Tweeter’s Block.

Oh, it’s real.

Well, let me clarify. It’s more real for Anons, comedians, and people who use Twitter as a platform for their message.

For people who use Twitter solely for social interaction Tweeter’s Block doesn’t exist. You can always revert to tweeting about your lunch, your commute, your garden, your best friend who you don’t think is going to be your best friend much longer if she keeps treating you the way she is….

There’s no judgment here if you’re a social user. It’s just different than those of us who are trying – my wife ALWAYS tells me I try too hard – to put out a different type of content.

There comes a point when we feel a loss. We simply have nothing to say. What do we do in that moment?

There is a way to overcome Tweeter’s Block. Here’s how:

1. Go read the tweets of people that make you laugh out loud – the literal kind of laughing out loud, not the social media polite response of LOL meaning I find you amusing. Who makes you laugh out loud when you’re reading silently to yourself? Who makes you draw strange looks from people around you? Go read their tweets. Retweet some of their material. I have found that reading and retweeting other funny material can spark my own creativity and get my writing juices flowing again.

2. Schedule tweets in advance. I’ve talked about this before, but it’s true. I’ve become a HootSuite fan. I schedule tweets throughout the day so that the funny keeps coming in regular intervals. This is not to say you can’t do spontaneous, situational comedy. I love reading funny tweets that inspire you in the moment. But a good joke is a good joke at any time of the day. Consider writing down the joke and scheduling to go out later. I use my phone’s notepad app to scribble down tweet ideas. Then I can go schedule them without having to worry about tweeting it out immediately.

3. Revisit your sources of inspiration. We all draw from somewhere. What sources give you good material? Go back to them. Revel in them. Look for the funny in those sources: kids, job, church, family, politics, whatever. You’ll find your funny again.

4. Say nothing. Yup. Really. Our social media culture gives us the message that if we’re not being vocal we’ll be forgotten. We don’t need to fear silence. Use it. Take the silence to work up some really good material. If you don’t you face the danger of forcing yourself to put out unfunny material (trust – I’m not speaking hypothetically. I’ve deleted my fair share of tweets that I never should have put out there). So embrace the nothingness. Use it to think, work, and develop new material.

There you have it. What do you do to break on through?

Related posts:
–          10 Rules for Twitter Anons

One thought on “How to Overcome Tweeter’s Block

Leave a Reply

